Reviews

8.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.9
Comfort
8.7
Property location
8.0
Facilities
8.2
Staff
9.0
Value
7.6

Reviews

    Tom
    gb

    Review score

    7.1
    20 May 2018

    Decent place to stay, very isolated. Needs a serious refurbishment.

    Poorly maintained property. It is in need of a serious refurbishment. It needs deep cleaning, walls, doors, mosquito nets. No TV in bedrooms.
    VERY attentive professional staff, all of them! Excellent restaurant food. Excellent daily cleaning.
    Carolyn
    co

    Review score

    9.6
    7 May 2018

    Lovely hotel on the prettiest and tranquil bay in Cartagena

    Some of the beach chairs and boating equipment should be cleaned and updated.
    The newly renovated rooms had very comfortable beds and good supply of hot water which is not normal for the area. The food and service were also very good. The free boat ride over to Playa Azul was a nice touch. It was a beautiful, relaxing way to spend the day.
    Sylvie
    be

    Review score

    8.8
    23 April 2018
    The food could be better, la lancha to Agua Azul only for 2 hours is a bit short, kayaks aren't in great shape
    The service & staff are great, the room & bathroom spacious with a balcony & a pretty view, there aren't too many day trippers so you can enjoy the little beach area. You can hear the music coming from playa Cholon but it is fine not too disturbing
    us

    Review score

    2.9
    20 April 2018

    we kind of felt imprisoned, being completely dependent on the hotel's services and offerings

    - hotel area is extremely small and you cannot go anywhere without paying a fortune for a private boat - rather old fashioned and poor facilities (SUPs, kayaks, beach beds) - only one restaurant where you have to buy everything (water, all meals) - considering the service and the quality the hotel is incredibly overpriced!!
    -
    Meena
    us

    Review score

    7.9
    15 April 2018
    The room was a bit decrepit.
    Great staff! Beautiful beaches near the property, do not miss Isla Isla. Food was also good.
    Erika
    pe

    Review score

    9.2
    12 March 2018

    Amazing place!

    There was not clear that you HAVE to take the boat transportation of the hotel because it is almost imposible to arrive by other ways.
    The comfort and views
    Tom Al
    il

    Review score

    6.2
    6 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Frank
    at

    Review score

    6.2
    7 February 2018

    remote hotel on an island, beach not very nice, extra trips to better beaches

    Only one boat to Baru at 8:00 and one back to Cartagena at 4:00 p.m. No other way to get back except with a bumpy and very expensive off road taxi. Only one restaurant.
    Nice staff, food ok, very remote place, can be loud as boats park on sunday on the opposite island, breakfast simple, dinner limited
    Ana
    uy

    Review score

    9.6
    1 February 2018

    The paradise

    Nothing
    The place
    Gisela
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    26 December 2017
    The place where the hotel is located is quiet and beautiful and the hotel staff is very friendly. Expect some third world surprises though: when I was there, there was some problem with the sanitary sewer and there was a horrible smell around (that by the way interrupted my massage session, making it the opposite of relaxing). The bathroom was also a bit old, but the room was very cozy. And the food was always amazing!
    Eda & Marcus
    de

    Review score

    10
    11 December 2017

    A wonderful place directly by the beach with a great staff!

    The staff was very attentive, friendly and helpful. Whatever request we had, they did their best to help us and make us feel comfortable. The facility has a private beach, where you can go kanooing, or stand-up paddeling; Hotel Sport Baru offers boat trips which you can book to go to the nearby Rosario Islands for snorkeling or Playa Azul, which where absolutely fascinating. The food in the restaurant was also amazing. All in all- it was a great place, where we would love to come back in a heartbeat!
    au

    Review score

    10
    4 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Lilibeth
    gb

    Review score

    10
    23 November 2017
    The free trip that the hotel includes to the agua azul beach made this an excellent trip as it is a beautiful and secluded beach. We felt no need to go to the Playa Blanca that everyone talks about. Great food also and excellent service feels very secluded and relaxing as it’s such a small place. Plenty to do such a small kayaks ping pong and loads of sunbed options
    BELLA
    us

    Review score

    10
    2 April 2018

    Excelent

    Delicious food
    Carlos
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    1 April 2018

    I would highly recommended anyone to go and experience what true relaxation is

    There was nothing that I did not like
    The personal was awesome,kind,super friendly just over wonderful staff
    gaelle
    us

    Review score

    7.9
    29 March 2018

    Not bad but not the Caribbean haven I was looking for.

    I wished there had been more of a beach. You could hardly swim there. The hotel did take you free of charge to a ‘real’ beach to make up for it but only for a couple of hours. The food was very average. One morning (we were only there two days), a boat came to deliver water and for one and a half hour, we had to listen to the loud engine (think of a loud mower) and the whiff of exhaust fumes from the boat. We were also there during spring break which meant that instead of peace and quiet from the laguna, we heard thumping music from partying boats and jet skis motor sounds. Nothing that Sports Baru could control but still...
    I liked the room. It had a nice balcony with a lovely view. The hotel made the best of its location (mangrove laguna) and provided nice seating area on the small beach. The restaurant had a higher level with a beautiful breeze and view. The staff was VERY friendly and accommodating.
    Donna
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    14 March 2018

    Had a nice stay. Would stay here again.

    We took the free hotel boat to a nearby island but weren't told we would be bombarded with people selling their wares which was constantly for 2 hours we were there. A warning beforehand would have been nice and we would not have gone had we known this. 2 ladies even started massaging our feet and one shoulder even after we tried to ignore them and constantly telling them no. Really invaded our space. It wasn't until I handed them a $20 would they leave us alone. There really isn't much to do around the hotel except relax in the chairs but it is a very nice little beach to relax. Very small beach area and swim area and walking any where we were told is not advised. So unless you leave for tours, plan to stick around the grounds of the hotel.
    Upon arrival, we were presented with a fruit drink which was nice. We appreciated using their big, safer boat to return to Cartagena. We arrived on a smaller boat after purchasing a combo ticket with our airport taxi driver. First time in a boat I felt I could flip. I even attached my purse with my passport and money to a lifejacket in case we flipped! Use Sport Baru's bigger boat on the return! The free breakfast was good and so was dinner. We did not have lunch there. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Nice view of the ocean from the patio door.
    dan13
    us

    Review score

    4.6
    13 March 2018

    May be good by Colombian standards, but this is way worse then any Caribbean islands

    very small resort enclosed by the high wall with locked gates, 2 very small "beach" areas where mangroves were cleared up, but the bottom is silty and very unpleasant. A boat takes you to a better beach, but they give you there ~ 2 hours before they take you back. No TV in the room, no WIFI in the room, shower water spills on the bathroom floor. Food is very mediocre and expensive. There is absolutely nothing to do except reading after sunset. Even though this area is a National Park, the water and the islands are full of trash - very sad.
    free use of kayaks and SUP board
    Elisa
    br

    Review score

    7.9
    20 February 2018
    The hotel is situated in a “ensenada” so you actually need to get into tours to see the caribbean blue waters. There is a beach by the hotel, which is really relaxing but more like a river beach. The island is hard to reach and you need to plan your trip because there are fixed times for the boat. I had to pay usd100 for a 4x4 individual trip back so I could make my flight. Also, the bathrooms DO NOT look like the ones in the picture. They are worse.
    Great views and staff very friendly. Relaxing beach at the front, but more like a river beach. Great if all you wanna do is lay and relax. I loved the kayaks and stand up paddles available for guests. Restaurant is ok, i guess as good as it gets in such a remote island.
    us

    Review score

    6.2
    19 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews